California Paid Sick Leave Law Begins July 1, 2015
What Household Employers Need to Know
The California paid sick leave law, also known as the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014, was signed into law last year by California Governor Jerry Brown, authorizing employers – including household employers – in California to provide their employees paid sick leave.
The law provides that an employee who works in California for 30 or more days in a year, beginning July 1, 2015, is entitled to accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. That works out to a minimum of 3 paid sick days (or 24 hours of paid sick time) in each year of employment. Employees are eligible to use accrued sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment. The bill also prohibits an employer from discriminating or retaliating against an employee who requests paid sick days.
Excluded from the new law are state-employed in-home workers.
For more information and to learn how GTM helps families stay compliant with household employment laws, contact Jonita Denegar at (888) 432-7972 or email Jonita@GTM.com, and visit GTM at www.GTM.com.